Tags

, , , ,

So, as I stated in one of my older blog posts, I entered into a competition that was hosted by scholastic. I won’t go into all of the details that lie there-in, but I will say that it could have given me a bit of an advantage on the financial front of schooling. I had said that if I had won a gold key, then I would have moved onto nationals and then been judged within New York City. From there, I could earn scholarships and even full-rides to some major art schools.

Alas, this did not happen, and I received nothing. Apparently, for seniors in Highschool, it was either gold or nothing. And I received nothing. They had told me that the competition had been incredibly high this year, and a great many people had not really won anything. I know they just said that to make me feel better, so I let them.

I was really excited about this competition, just because I wanted to see if I could do it. To actually receive gold. If I did, then I would be so incredibly happy and even had I lost nationals, I wouldn’t have cared! I would have received gold! Though, since I have not received gold, I will not let this determine my writing ability. There were only two judges for our region on the writing front, so I won’t let the opinion of two people discourage my will to do what I love, namely, writing. And besides, I was only doing this competition so that I could see what I was made of, to see what I could do. It’s not like I was relying on it for help or anything. Far from it. now I move on to more important things.

So, from this, I am going to resume my life, working on my writing and preparing for college next year. I have a job, a family, and a promising future ahead of me. What am I worried about? Nothing. I shouldn’t let it bother me, nor will I. I will move on, become the English Major that I am going to become and then write a world so deep and meaningful, it will find its place in the classics!

hahaha

Or at least, that’s the dream right? Anyway, I’ll do what I have to do, take everything day by day, work on my self improvement and become the very best that I can. I have friends and family who believe in me and that’s more than a lot of people have already.

I am content.

