Tags

, , , , , ,

As of August 20th my college life goes into full effect. I will be majoring in English with a concentration on writing and as far as a minor goes, I’m not sure what I will be doing as of yet (Main decisions are Journalism and Marketing). I will have to see what the classes are like before I really decide.

This first semester, I am doing general studies and prerequisites. A couple of them, I absolutely abhor, but I feel that if I get them out of the way now, I will have a much more enjoyable experience during the rest of my college career. It means waiting, but that’s something that I’ll have to learn at some point, right?

The first class I’m taking is English 131, a basic mandatory English course that is the first stepping stone into the writing field. I’m going to enjoy this one I think, but probably not as much as I’m going to enjoy the Creative Writing that I’m going to be taking Junior year.

Next is Speech. Ugh. This is one class that I’m going to hate the most due to my incredible disinterest and fear of getting up in front of people. I hated it in High School and didn’t enjoy it any more by the end of the class than I did in the beginning. But, there is no way that I’m going to be waiting until my final Semester when I’m all burnt out to finish this thing. It’s going to be done now!

Third up is a Literature course in Western Masterpieces. I’m excited about this one, yet a little apprehensive due to the massive amount of reading that I’m going to do. I think some of my hesitant feelings are due to having a college prep class during High School where we were reading a book every other week. I know I can do it, but the amount of time and effort is going to be a challenge. I will be happy to do it, but I know that by the time that it’s finished, I’ll be ready for a break!

The fourth class that I’m taking is Math. More specifically, Algebra and Trigonometry.  Not sure what to think about this class. Never received a grade below a B in a math class, but I have never enjoyed it. We shall see.

And my last class is Astronomy. Don’t know what to think about this one either, but I’m kinda excited about this one, mainly because I love space. I’m curious about how everything works, so this, I think, is going to be a new adventure! Who knows, maybe I’ll find another passion!

All in all, I’m pretty excited for the school year to start! I’ll be busy, but I’m going to be trying to work on my writing as usual. I should be able to post the first chapter of my second draft here in the next few days when I’m happy with it! I would love it if I could get some feedback on it!

Cheers!

Ben.

As Bambi says: "Flower!"

Aww! Ain’t they right durn prettay!

